What Summer *Really* Means

In my teens and early twenties, June meant pool parties, cookouts, beach days, and all the action movies and popcorn a gal could handle. Things are just a tad different with a toddler. And by “tad” I mean “EXTREMELY.”

Now life is broken down into BB and AB – meaning life Before Baby and After Baby. Do any of these scenarios sound familiar to you?

Share in the comments below how YOUR summer has changed now that you’re a mom!

*

Beach Day!

BB:

Were we really ever this carefree?

Were we really ever this carefree?

All you carried with you was a towel, wallet, change of clothes, and maybe a phone (depending on what year we’re talking). You really didn’t need to plan before going; it was usually on a whim or just because the forecast was sunny. They were simpler times.

AB:

All that's missing here is the inconsolable crying

All that’s missing here is the inconsolable crying

In addition to the baby bag basics, you need waterproof diapers or backup undies (in case of an accident), more towels than you’ll end up using, various toys, sunscreen, water, snacks, an umbrella (if you’re there for a while), and you’ve already accepted that your car will be sandy for days. I’m not even gonna discuss the meltdowns that could happen while you’re there!

Going to the Movies

BB:

enjoying-movie

“Hey, wanna go see a movie?”

“Yeah! When does it start?”

“Fifteen minutes.”

“Cool. Lemme just grab a hoodie in case it’s chilly in the theater.”

AB:

movie w fam

Disclaimer: The family in this picture does not accurately represent real family movie nights.

 

“Hey, wanna go see a movie?”

“Yeah! When does it start?”

“In about an hour.”

“Crap. We’d never make it. Plus Max is almost ready for lunch. Wanna just watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse again?”

Cook outs & Picnics

BB:

2nd Disclaimer: I never went to a party this cool looking

2nd Disclaimer: I never went to a party this cool looking

AB:

3rd Disclaimer: This is my son and I can't get mad when he plays "archaeologist"

3rd Disclaimer: This is my son and I can’t get mad when he plays “archaeologist”

Whether it’s sticky, watermelon covered hands or the spot in the yard that will never grow grass again because your child is an aspiring archaeologist, outside time is never quite the same with kids. Sure there are boo-boos from outdoor adventures and messy faces covered in God knows what. But guess what? All the “oopsies” make for great memories. Plus, when you’re outside, you can just hose ’em down 😉

*

SO! Did I leave anything off the list? Here’s hoping your summer will be off to an ant-free, nap-filled, smooth start!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “What Summer *Really* Means

  1. Oh my goodness. You nailed it!! I do not have babies of my own as of yet, but I have 3 step babies and holy moly!! I never in my life thought my purse would become a first aid kit/ snack bag/ trash bag/ tissue dispenser/ medicine cabinet/ toy carrier/ media center. !!! But I wouldn’t trade the incredibly messy madness for the world ! 🙂 They make every single day of my life an adventure ❤

Leave a comment